Indefinite Detention

Through seven locked doors I travelled

with wrist and ankles in shackles

I found myself among those who society calls the criminally insane

within seconds a fight broke out

Because one man pissed on another

swarms of guards is all I could see

I thought to myself

these people are going to spend their life with me

because none of us will ever be free

home to serial killers and mass murders

who would soon become my card playing partners

in the hospital for the criminally insane

Indefinite detention is the name of the game

it’s a place for society’s throwaways

no longer considered human beings

I wondered to myself

will I be here forever

because for the first time in my life

I was being indefinitely detained

3 thoughts on “Indefinite Detention

Your thoughts. . . ?

